top of page
  • Writer's pictureNII

NII’s 2021 board expands with new expertise

Updated: Mar 15, 2021

New members bring experience in medical isotopes and engineering

The Nuclear Innovation Institute (NII) welcomed three new members to its Board of Directors today, adding greater industry expertise and outside experience to enhance its work on accelerating innovation in the nuclear industry.

Gary Newman joins the Board in his capacity as the Chief Engineer and Senior Vice President of Engineering at Bruce Power. Gary is the Design Authority for Bruce Power and carries responsibility for all onsite engineering activity. He brings wide industry insight from his other board roles at the CANDU Owners Group, the University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering and the Advanced Nuclear Research Centre.

Dr. Karin Stephenson is NII’s newest Member-at-Large, bringing expertise in research and academia accumulated over more than 20 years in the fields of medical isotopes and radiopharmaceutical development. Karin is currently the Manager of Commercial Operations for McMaster University’s Nuclear Operations and Facilities responsible for maintaining, developing and identifying business opportunities as well as R&D technology/products relevant to customers and to the growth of the nuclear sciences field.

Bruce County Member Anne Eadie has served on the Municipality of Kincardine’s council since 2010, when she was elected Deputy Mayor. She became Mayor in 2014 and was re-elected in 2018. Mayor Eadie serves on various other committees such as Economic Development and Doctor Recruitment. She replaces former NII Vice-Chair Mitch Twolan.

“These new directors strengthen our organization and increase our capabilities as we pursue the goal of a clean energy future, led by a continually innovating nuclear industry,” said Board Chair Michael Rencheck, President & CEO, Bruce Power.

“I also want to thank Mitch Twolan for his time and commitment over the past year as one of our inaugural board members,” he added. “Our Board has been integral to shaping our mission and commitment to be leaders in the new thinking required in a new energy era.”

These new board members join the rest of NII’s Board of Directors:

• Michael Rencheck, President & CEO, Bruce Power (Chair)

• James Phillips, Good Governance (Vice-Chair)

• John MacQuarrie, President, BWXT Canada Ltd.

• Lisa Aitken, Director, Marketing, Cameco Corporation

• Spencer Fox, President, E.S. Fox Ltd.

• David Harris, President and CEO, Kinectrics Inc.

• James Scongack, Executive Vice President, Bruce Power

• Jessica Linthorne, Member-at-Large, Municipal Innovation

Learn more about all of NII’s board members at:


bottom of page